Religion Harms

This one had to be added to our list, so I borrowed a friend’s netbook briefly.

Bangladesh man chops off wife’s fingers

“After he came back to Bangladesh, he wanted to have a discussion with me. Suddenly, he blindfolded me and tied my hand,” Ms Akther told the BBC from the town of Narsingdi.

“He also taped my mouth saying that he would give me some surprise gifts. But, instead he cut off my fingers.”

She said her husband, who is not well educated, did not approve of her enrolling in a college for higher studies.

During their earlier telephone conversations, she said, he warned her of “severe consequences” if she went against his word.

“Doctors said my fingers could be re-attached within six hours but he refused to give them. After that time, another relative of my husband threw the fingers in a dustbin.

“We finally recovered them but it was too late,” said Ms Akther, who is still recovering at her parents’ house.

What kind of sick twisted bastard does this to another person? Oh, I forgot, in a patriarchy, women aren’t people.

I wish I had more time to rant, feel free to insert your own here.

Until next time.

3 Responses to “Religion Harms”

  1. You keep finding stuff to which the only response I can think of is, ‘Ugh!’

    She’s apparently already practising writing left-handed, and talking of picking her studies back up. Good on her!

  2. I’m rarely a violent, angry person..but when I see these sorts of things, I see red.

  3. It’s not just patriarchy that does this, but a religiously sanctioned patriarchy constructed by men, for men. Much of the west remains a patriarchy, but it’s a patriarchy that’s removed the religious underpinnings and has started to think about the rights of the majority (i.e. those who aren’t white, heterosexual males).

Leave a Reply

