Days Fly By

The travails of our lives.

I noted briefly before that I’ve taken a part-time job (as well as being a full-time student, leading a girl scout troop, plus mom/housewife-ing), so I hope you’ll pardon me for the incredibly long absence.

I’d better start with Thanksgiving.

The day before Thanksgiving, m mother comes over and we make baked goods to take to my brother-in-law’s. I dropped Sage off at school, got what I needed at the grocery store, and then came home to a mess. My living room was covered in pieces of drywall, roofing tile, and a razor blade. With no reason for the debris in sight.

My neighbor had ordered new skylights, due to a leak in one of hers. They came to the wrong house. They had already taken one of ours out before she came out to tell them that they were in the wrong place. So, they took hers out, replaced them with new ones, and then put her old one in the gaping hole in my roof.

Two days later, it rained. I woke up in the middle of the night with water dripping on my legs. We called the roofing guys, they came out that day and put a tarp over it. That evening it began raining heavily. Right into our house once more. At 11:30 at night, in the midst of a vicious downpour, these guys are once again crawling around on our roof.

They were supposed to put the new skylights in on Saturday, but they cancelled at the last minute due to a family emergency. I still have a giant tarp over my skylights, all my furniture is on sliders, waiting to be moved, and so we wait. “Next sunny day,” they said. In December? Ha.

In addition, I have had two girl scout meetings, walked in a parade with them, had a scrapbooking party with them, took them caroling at a nursing home, wrote a 13 page research paper, worked every weekday, cooked all homecooked meals, kept the house clean, and completed half my holiday shopping.

Today, I’m being lazy. Well except for work. And cooking. And cleaning….

3 Responses to “Days Fly By”

  1. Suddenly my recent surge of over-work seems almost relaxing by comparison!

    So if they’re waiting for a day of decent weather, you may be stuck with the tarps until, what, March? Oh my!

  2. Srsly. December is pretty much overcast all month long here.

  3. alfred beilin Says:

    if any ones here today all the best to yous for 2012
    alfred beilin

Leave a Reply

