In It For The Money

I happened to catch this news story on BBC today.

It’s on churches in Nigeria that teach that “spiritual growth can lead to financial prosperity.”

It also mentions that “pastors are now listed among the country’s wealthiest people.”

At least they’re up front about what they’re after.

The part I did appreciate was the BBC’s inclusion of a representative from the Nigerian Humanist Movement to balance the piece out, which almost never happens in US broadcasts.

5 Responses to “In It For The Money”

  1. There’s a similar one in Japan, I seem to recall. Caught a bit about it in the final programme of a series on the history of Christianity (on the BBC, of course).

    Fits very well with where KK’s at right now—keep offering the flock jam tomorrow, at the price of their bread today. (Damn, did I just make that up? Quite good, if I do say so meself.)

  2. I do like that analogy, though I’m not a particular fan of jam, myself…

  3. Jelly then? I know that some of the stuff that we call jam, you guys call jelly but I’m not at all sure what the distinction is. What we call jelly is a wobbly gelatin dessert, something like this.

  4. Jam is a sugary fruit puree. Preserves are with whole pieces of fruit. Jelly has no fruit pieces whatsoever. Marmalade is gross.

    I prefer peanut butter on my toast. ;)

    The wobbly gelatin we call Jell-O.

  5. Jam here is any of the fruit spreads you mention except marmalade, and ‘preserves’ is the general name for them all. And I love marmalade. Failing that, jam with actual fruit in, what you call preserve. Or Marmite, but don’t ask… :-)

Leave a Reply

