Religion Harms

Afghan Girl Tricked Into Carrying Bomb, Officials Say

Insurgents tricked an 8-year-old girl in a remote area of central Afghanistan into carrying a bomb wrapped in a cloth and then detonated the bomb remotely when she was close to a police vehicle, the Afghan authorities said Sunday. Only the girl was killed in the blast.

Full text of article behind the jump.

Afghan Girl Tricked Into Carrying Bomb, Officials Say
By ALISSA J. RUBIN
Published: June 26, 2011

KABUL, Afghanistan — Insurgents tricked an 8-year-old girl in a remote area of central Afghanistan into carrying a bomb wrapped in a cloth and then detonated the bomb remotely when she was close to a police vehicle, the Afghan authorities said Sunday.

Only the girl was killed in the blast, which occurred in Uwshi Village of Charchino District, said Fazal Ahmad Shirzad, the police chief of Uruzguan Province.

Mr. Shirzad said he believed that the girl was completely unaware that the bag that she had been given by Taliban insurgents held a bomb. The girl’s body was later “taken to a nearby security check post and the police called her relatives, “ he said.

In Logar Province in southeastern Afghanistan, the death toll in the bombing that occurred Saturday at a hospital in a small town rose to 37 as people who were severely injured by the blast died, said Mohammed Zarif Naibkhail, the director of public health for the province. Another 53 people were injured.

“The casualties are actually way higher than that but the local villagers rushed to the hospital right after the explosion and took the bodies of their relatives to their own villages,” he said.

Four NATO soldiers were also killed Sunday. Two were Spanish troops who died when an improvised explosive device detonated in Badghis Province in western Afghanistan, according to the Spanish Defense Ministry. A soldier also died in southern Afghanistan and a soldier died in eastern Afghanistan, according to a NATO statement.

Ray Rivera in Kabul and Taimoor Shah in Kandahar contributed reporting.

It’s always the fucking children. My heart breaks at the same time as I am filled with such rage. This is why I hate religion.

6 Responses to “Religion Harms”

  1. Ugh.

    *Two minutes of staring blankly at the screen, while my toast goes cold, later…*

    Ugh.

    Remind me not to read ‘Religion Harms’ posts over my breakfast again, will you? Sorry if that seems flip, but my actual reaction, as well as losing appetite, was more of a tirade of unprintableness.

  2. Well at least it wasn’t your tea, now that would be tragic. ;)

    Oh, I understand perfectly. As a mother of an eight year old girl, I had a similar series of negative expositions, right after I stopped imagining my little girl in that situation.

    The kid ones, as I’ve said before, get me more than any other type stories.

  3. Tea? Tea? TEA? Ugh! Never touch the stuff. I had spread the last of me marmalade on the toast, though.

    Yeah, the child ones always get to me most, too. Most horrible acts, I can sort of put myself in the perpetrator’s head, or at least imagine how they got like that. Not forgive, maybe, but at least understand. Not child-abusers though, and especially not ones who could do such things in completely cold blood.

  4. Another stereotype dashed to bits. I’m fond of mint tea when I have a stomach upset, and iced during the summer months.

  5. Akshully, I remember being quite bemused when I found out tea was a popular drink in the US. You were all supposed to be coffee drinkers.

  6. I drink about a pot and a half of coffee a day, to be honest. (That’s about 18 measuring cups.)

    My mom and my sister don’t like either (they prefer cocoa), but pretty much everyone else I know drinks both tea and coffee.

Leave a Reply

